Business advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilovespmu

Reaction score
Hi all

Hoping some of you more savvy business geeks may be able to answer a few questions for me.

I am really interested in acquiring my own premises and have been looking at some places locally however I'm totally new to all of that side of things and was wondering..

If you buy a business so say £12000 and then rent is £400 pm, that 12k is buying what exactly? The equipment, fixtures, equipment etc? Would you hope to keep some of the existing clients? In this instance the seller is emigrating so there would be no issue with them taking clients.

Also would landlord pay insurance for the building? Does rent usually cover utilities etc? And what about business rates?

Sorry for the thousand questions!! Xx

Hey. Hop I can answer a few queries... Buying a business basically buys you the name and the existing goodwill, so you'll basically be handed the business ready to go, existing clients, staff etc. it's not something I've done myself as I started from scratch but you'll end up paying as much to set one up so it's not really about cost. I would look at the reputation, staff, accounts and if it all looks great. If it's got a bad rep/bad staff/ bad accounts... You may find it a little harder to turn that around.
Your rent will still be on top of the price you pay for the business. A business lease almost always includes buildings cover but won't include contents/public liability/employers insurance. It won't include any of your utilities (and you have to pay water remember too) and any internal repairs/modifications are usually all on you too.