Hair extension vendors-India/China

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Candice Codling

Reaction score
Hi,

I have been wearing hair extensions for the past 10 years and I know what hair extensions are good, and what hair extensions are just plain rubbish. I live in the UK and buying hair here locally from local hair shops or online stores can be extremely expensive. I wanted to open up my own online hair store offering affordable hair wefts in straight and body wave 16" - 22", on the side line as I have a full time job.

For the past 5 months I have been sourcing hair samples from China and India, it has got to the point where I am wasting a lot of money getting hair samples that just don't meet the quality standards that I am looking for.

Experience so far from chinese vendors- They tend to grade their hair into different categories dependent on quality (it can get very confusing as this grading system is not regulated in any way!), the hair looks overly smooth and processed- whilst their body wave hair was relatively thick, their straight hair was extremely thin in the bundles particularly at the bottoms. The hair was smooth however, and shedding was minimal.

Experience so far from indian vendors- I ordered different sizes of temple hair which some bundles came in light brown colours and others darker, I was told as the hair comes directly from a donor then I must state on further orders exactly the colour I wanted, the hair was also dirty and required wash before I installed it to test the quality. The hair matted and shed after one wash.

I am adamant to find a supplier that meets the quality requirements, is anybody able to reach out with a few names of vendors they have used or a few useful tips?