How do you handle friends/family who won't pay? And in home service menu prices?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jspamps

Reaction score
Newbie here!

I came here in search of some advice from other stylists on a real troubling issue for me.

As a licensed stylist for 5 years now, I'm still having a difficult time with friends and family alike always skipping out on their bill with me :mad:

When I first was in cosmetology, I was happy to give friends and family heavily discounted services while I was learning - I felt guilty charging them a full price for something I was still learning to do. However, even after I graduated... they continued to expect this discount. I have worked at 2 professional salons since graduation and friends/family still did not visit them for services because they knew they would have to pay.

However, after 3 years in professional salons I went on maternity leave and decided that I would then be doing hair out of my home. As if it wasn't bad enough before, now friends and family just expect completely free haircuts/colors/highlights. I am still taking continuing education, I am still furthering my education constantly and believe me... I am not getting rusty at all. I feel very taken advantage of and I'm not exactly sure how to handle this anymore. I'm at the point where I have had to basically tell everyone that I'm no longer doing hair -- because I simply can not AFFORD to do their hair!