New technician looking for advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarlyAnn

Reaction score
Hi all.

I am very new to the world of professional nail services having recently completed a man/ped course. Since completing the course I purchased lots of CND Shellac products direct from Sweet Squared in order to start a mobile nails service in my area.

I have started practising on friends & family for free in order to perfect my technique, however the same problem is occurring every time - the manicure is chipping from the free edge! And on my own nails (which admittedly are very thin, it chips to the extent that I can peel it of!?!?!)

I have done a lot of research however there are not many people that are having the same problem - I have read a lot about it peeling from the cuticle, but that isn't the problem I am having.

So it must be my technique??
- Maybe I am applying to product too thick, although I am aware that CND Shellac needs to be very thin and so I am conscious of not making this mistake.
- Am I not capping the ends properly? Although I am sure I do?
- Am I not curing for long enough? I do 10 seconds for the base, and then 2 minutes for the 2 colour layers and the top coat.
- Am I not prepping correctly? I file, bevel buff & prepare the cuticles.

I bought all of the correct products direct from Sweet Squared and so non of the products are 'rip-off products'. The lamp is UV CND 130 WATTS.

Am I making beginners mistakes? Or did any of you have these problems at the start? Is it a matter of practice?

I myself have VERY thin nails, and I have read that CND Shellac isn't compatible for everyone, so am I just incurring this problem? The system says its a 2 weeks manicure, I know this isn't always realistic, however I am not reaching nearly that far.