Newbie - nails not lasting

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mrs Jess

Reaction score
Hi all...
I am new to nails, I started about 6 weeks ago - I have done 7 sets in the last week but 4 of those sets have either had 1 or 2 come off :(
If I list my order of service, could you tell me if I'm doing anything wrong/missing anything out please:

(Using nsi gel balance system)

1. Small amount of nsi cuticle dissolve on cuticles
2. Push back and trim cuticles. Then cleanse.
3. File natural nail with 180 grit
4. Fit and adhere pro impressions tips (applying adhesive to tip AND free edge of natural nail)
5. Limited blending in (as they're pro impressions - no blending) I usually just blend the corners/wings. Then shape into clients preference
6. Buff tip & natural nail
7. Apply nsi nail pure plus
8. Apply nsi balance bond primer
9. Apply thin layer of nsi balance gel firmly, avoiding skin.
10. Cure for 2 mins in uv lamp.
11. Apply thicker second layer (working and dragging gel, starting from zone 3.
12. Turn clients hand over for 15 seconds
13. Check and cure for 2 mins
14. Repeat steps 11, 12 & 13.
15. Remove sticky layer with cleanse.
16. Do any last filing before polishing.

Please help me, I know I'm new but I'm feeling really disappointed :(
Thanks in advance xz

Sent from my GT-N7100 using SalonGeek mobile app

Last edited:
Are you washing off the cuticle disolve ? I don't do gel only acrylic but I know that needs to be washed off x

Are you washing off the cuticle disolve ? I don't do gel only acrylic but I know that needs to be washed off x

Thank you for your reply nikysnails. .. I cleanse after I have finished doing the cuticles. X

Sent from my GT-N7100 using SalonGeek mobile app

Hopefully you get an answer it's so frustrating x

Umm do you wipe nails after filing buffing etc? Im new too but can't think of anything else either xx