Really need advice - help please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karen1818

Reaction score
I have been styling for 20 years. I have been at this salon for 5 years. 2 years with one owner and 3 years with the new owner and his employees form his previous salon. I have a substantial clientele. Paid commission. WE get great education.
Problem-
The salon preaches team work, team this, family this, we are all one big happy family. Except for those that are not part of "the family".
The owner takes his "team" of stylists on photo shoots, on location events etc. This "team" goes out for work suppers, bonding, team building but does not include several of us- then it gets posted all over social media what this team, family is doing with pictures of them etc. Selfies of them while the few of us left behind just watch. The couple times i have been invited, i was left alone while they did their social media photo ops- completely excluding, and the one time i was left at the function by myself as they all left to go to a night club. Literally just got up from the table and said, see ya next week, and left me at the work event by myself.
I am considering leaving, i have some options for chair rentals. This is a really well known salon in our town, I am just not sure if this is the right decision. Or if I am being a drama queen, i should just got to work, suck it up and not care. There are many other times these things have happened.
Seriously, i feel like I am back in high school. It sucks being alone at work.

Are u employed or self employed? If self employed and you get plenty clients I would not care. Just get on with it as the pay is why you go to work. If employed and you can't suffer it and really feel bad then maybe start to look for another place of work.