Renting and now sharing!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lauren00

Lauren
Reaction score
I need some advice, I've been renting a beauty room at a salon for the past 5 years. I'm self employed, have all my own products, just pay rent.

I'm planning on moving down south around April. (I've told the salon) So I got a second job cleaning.. to bump up my income to save pennies. I've changed my hours at the salon. My rent was reduced.

Everything was fine.

The lady who I rent a room off, asked if I didn't mind letting another beautician use my room whilst I wasn't there. (Someone I know well).
I agreed. Everything was fine.

Now ......it's come to the point were this beauty therapist is in the salon working when I'm in and now I'm being told Im having to share the room with her.. This will effect my clients & bookings. How are we both expected to do waxing at the same time?!?! I feel a little annoyed. Am I wrong to think this is unfair? i don't want to have to turn down a client because I don't have the bed free!

I'm beginning to feel like this lady I rent a room off is pushing me out because I will be leaving in April..

I need advice. Is there any guide lines or laws for this?

Thankyou for your time.

Last edited:
Was it a verbal agreement? I afraid I have to side a little with the manager here, she needs to keep the other therapist sweet and juggle this with the few weeks you have left. But I'm sure you can come to an agreement with the other therapist, maybe split up the hours or days you use the room? How has she been about it so far?