starting NVQ 2 this year

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

forever-young74

Reaction score
hi all
im 25,
my names liz, never posted on here before :) for a while now i've wanted 2 do either hair or nails - eventually decided on hair. have just applied for nvq 2 course startin this year. its a part time adult course at my local college (york college), 3 days per week. wanted to do it for ages but as all the courses were full time previosuly didnt fit my requirements. the college has just had a multi-million renovation n have heard the facilities r excellent, which means im even more excited about startin! want 2 go and have a look round soon.

i am a total novice - used to study art n design. nail art appealled to me coz of my previous experience, but think hair is more suited to me. wld like to do barbering as well as ladies hairdressin but need to ask the college what is on the course, tho from what i've read on here that wouldn't come in til nvq 3, if at all.

anyway my question is: what do the professionals on here think i cld work on before the course starts? got 7 months 2 wait before i start. what skills/personality type etc do u think are vital 2 the job? n is there anything i can do in those 7 months that wld help me when i start?

am not gna try and cut anyones hair coz i dont know what im doin and that wouldn't b fair :)

liz

Welcome to the forums Liz. Sorry I cant answer your question but just a little heads up for you. Please try not to use text speak as not everyone can decipher it. This is a world wide forum and not everyone has English as their first language.

I am sure someone will be right along with some answers for you.

Hiya Liz,