Therapies in Day Centres

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GracefulH&B

Reaction score
Hi Fellow Geeks

I have recently seen an advert for a local day centre for elderly people advertising for therapists to go in and do treatments on the clients there. You have to apply by email. I didn't really want to email a letter saying "Hi my name is Mandy and I am a therapist, this is what I do, and this is how much I charge". I want to try and look a bit more professional.

So firstly, does anybody have any ideas of how to word the letter and how do I make it look professional. And secondly, does anybody have any idea how you price this sort of thing. Do you just charge an hourly rate or do you charge per person. I would charge £25 for a reflexology treatment and I thought that I could charge that and do, say 4 foot massages in an hour. How does that sound?

Thanks for any advice.

Hiya, my mother is also a beauty therapist, she goes to an elderly care home to do treatments. Firstly she had to get CRB checked, and her prices are really low!!! I don't think you would make much money with this, as they are living on a pension and generally they don't have £25 to pay for treatments. What she does is charge £5 for file and paint and a little hand/foot massage, and £5-£10 (I can't really remember), for indian head massage. The thing is, she doesn't actually make much money but goes along to cheer them up so to speak. She goes for about 4 hours every fortnight. I'm thinking about doing it aswell, but not on a money making thing, rather just to go and perk them up and have a chat. They really appreciate her going and look forward to her visiting every other week. I don't want stereotype them but many are lonely and it's a nice way to give a little back. hth xx

Thanks for your reply.