Am I allergic?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KimT

Reaction score
Firstly, a lil information about me, im a fully qualified beauty therapist level 2&3, and have been working in the beauty industry for almost 4 years.
I work on a beauty bar, which only offers limited treatments, and due to finding this so repetitive, i decided to do an acrylic nail course.
I qualified last december, and since then, i only ever kept up the skill on myself or family.

A few months ago, i did my own nails, and had server itching and burning all over my hands. After looking online, i read that using to much monomer could be the cause of this, and this is what i put it down to due to the lack of consistency with this skill.

I did my own acrylics last week, and i did the best job id done, however they started itching slightly but after an hour they were fine.
I did my friends acrylic nails yesterday, and straight after i did a full file and polish pedicure on her mam.
Straight after the pedicure, my little finger on my left hand started itching, it became hot and inflamed. (My friend did tip my dehydrator and a tiny bit did go onto this area) so i guessed it was because of this.
However, this irritation is so bad, that it has kept me awake all night, and ive used cream throughout the night to cool it and stop the itching. My BOTH hands feel itchy tight and hot.

Just a few points:
*I ALWAYS sterilize my tools.
*I use all the high quality salon equipment and products
*This is happening not only when im doing my own nails, but other peoples also.
*My hands always feel itchy after filing peoples nails due to the dust also.

Any tips would be great
Thanks!

You're definitely experiencing a reaction to something. Whether it's just that brand of product or all acrylics/gel polishes, you won't know unless you get professionally tested.