Client allergic to acrylic?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eponeez

Reaction score
:idea: Hi - One of my clients is having trouble with her nail beds lifting - ugh! I have never seen this before with anyone (I have been a nail tech for about 10 years now- but this is new to me) Any ideas on a product (other than creative nail acrylic) that might be less likely to cause an allergic reaction? Possibly CN Brisa gels? or Wraps? Any suggestions?? Thank you

Brisa is hypoallergenic and very unlikely to cause or aggrivate an existing allergy.

However always do a test to see if they are reacting.
Onycholysis - nail plate lifting can be caused by a lot of things not just allergy.
Allergy to a product will most likely present itself as:
Itchy irritation, rash, swelling, puffiness, blisters.

HTH

Envy said:
Brisa is hypoallergenic and very unlikely to cause or aggrivate an existing allergy.

However always do a test to see if they are reacting.
Onycholysis - nail plate lifting can be caused by a lot of things not just allergy.
Allergy to a product will most likely present itself as:
Itchy irritation, rash, swelling, puffiness, blisters.

HTH

hiya xx

why would you do a test..? i was told that this would prove nothing and isn't necessary. may be wrong. xx

here is a link about testing...http://www.thenailgeek.com/main/6740-patch-tests.html?highlight=patch+test also http://www.thenailgeek.com/main/2709-patch-testing.html?highlight=patch+test

Good point Angie!

I don't mean do a patch test - (just to clarify)
What I'm suggesting is to try using the gel as per proper application techniques. But possibly on only one nail. Then observe over next few days.

But I am more concerned in this case with the plate lifting. If it is extensive, I wouldn't want to put any overlay on, as added length may exaggerate the problem!