Client didn't want cuticle care

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kirsten32889

Reaction score
Hiya, i'm brand new to this industry! A couple of weeks ago I completed my CND Shellac Beginners course. I've been struggling with my confidence so have just been charging to cover the cost of the products on family & friends even though my sister & my own nails have lasted the 2 weeks.

Last night I was doing my first 'actual client' (still just charging to cover the cost) she asked for her hand and toes done but requested NO cuticle work to be done. She didn't even want her nails filed. I explained to her that it needed to be done first but she still didn't want it. I carried on and still did the procedure (I now know I shouldn't).

I don't expect these to last very long because of it and I did let her know that. Shes a guest at a wedding on Saturday, do you expect these to last till then? Should I warn her again just incase?

Some clients are very particular about what they do and don't want, all we can do is give them our professional opinion and advice, which you did. You warned her they may not last as long so you did all you could. Her choice!

There are many salons that cut corners when it comes to shellac, she may have had a bad experience when they forced the cuticles back roughly and hurt her, or worse still used a electric file to file it off! If thats what she really wants then at the end of the day it is her choice , but I hope you still charged her full price and that this isn't her way of getting a cheaper deal out of you :)