Clients cancelling at last minute or not coming to appointments

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrsTwosh

Reaction score
Hi Geeks

I'm very new to this industry only starting in February and have a home run treatment room.

I'm just looking for some feedback with regards to last minute appointment cancellations and clients just not turning up. I may be completely wrong but sometimes get the feeling clients think this is ok as I'm 'at home' rather than in a salon. So just wondered what you geeks thought regards this or is it just something I need to except and get on with.

Also should I be charging for no shows and late cancellations? I have a client who has cancelled twice an hour before both appointments! If she tries to rebook should I ask for money up front when booking or 50% deposit?

I just don't want to scare clients off by charging no shows/late cancellations as I'm stilling trying to get my client list built up but I also don't want to have clients thinking they can mess me about 😐.

Hope this makes some sense!

Thank you in advance for you advice xxx

At the salon I have worked at they did a 3 strikes rule, they had it printed at the bottom of their price list that cancellations must give at least 6 hours notice, if they don't show or cancel out of the notice more than 3 times they will be charged 50% of the treatment they were booked in for.

It's totally unfair and very frustrating, but I can see how you don't want to scare your clients however you need to be firm, u will only loose clients that are abusing your services anyway, the clients will keep coming regularly because you are a good therapist and those are your loyal ones. Be confident and don't feel scared to say something (keep proffessional) :) xxx

Thank you! Your right I need to be firm with them. The 3 strike rule is a good idea too 😀 xxx