Damaged Nail - Can anything be done?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaffacake

Malamute Geek!
Reaction score
http://www.thenailgeek.com/photo/showphoto.php/photo/867/sort/1/cat/500/page/1

I dont know if that link above works (first time!! :sad: ) But its a photo of a nail that I have added to my gallery.

It's my bosses, it was damaged when he was 10 (about 40 years ago) by his brother stamping on his hand! :eek: Its not diseased but its been playing up for the last nine months or so, he keeps catching it when he puts his hands in his pocket etc. Is there anything that can be done, overlay etc, that would make it more comfortable?? Said i'd ask here first.....lol
Thanks x

Im no expert, but thats bad, I would suggest a visit to doctor, I don't think it should be overlayed, looks quite sore though.. hopefully someone else will reply too Sherrie

The reason it could be playing up as in more flaking then usual is that is is dry and needs some good old solar oil..........
Unless there is a sign of infection and soreness.................
You can wrap the nail with Fabric#, be thorough with your prep,Scrubfresh is a must here.........keep the overlay short, so it is in line with the existing nail either side.....and no pressure is applied by force(accident)...........get him to use solar oil to keep the EC Resin plasticised and the natural nail plump............The wrap will help but wont cure this nail....

This nail will require a lot of TLC and regular visits to keep an eye on it......
any changes to the underneath,(the gap bit) disolouration or the like and I would advise to remove the wrap................
HTH