DIY Shellac

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

poeticmelody

Reaction score
Hello ladies,

I am new here, although I've been lurking around for quite some time. I am not a nail professional, but am genuinely interested in hearing your side of the story as to why shellac should only be done by a licensed professional. What I'm looking for is a well thought out argument, not flaming fireballs thrown at me!

I bought shellac to do myself (arriving this friday!), but before I did, I spent COUNTLESS hours researching about the product and watching videos on how to apply/remove/troubleshooting. I feel way more informed than my "licensed nail technician" who was applying shellac ALL wrong! She buffed my nail, didn't seal the free edge, didn't use a CND lamp but a no brand one, let the polish pool around the edges, didn't use a curette, cut my eponychium, didn't use the CND wraps to remove (used foil and cotton balls and only left it on for 5 min), didn't wash my hands after using CND cuticle remover, and didn't inform me about any aftercare. In short, it was a shellac disaster!

Shellac by itself doesn't seem to be harmful, especially if you use the ENTIRE system as it was intended, and to that end I did buy the whole system, meaning everything recommended by CND, including the CND lamp and the CND remover wraps. I read Doug Schoon's articles on danger of under (and over) cured nails (my technician apparently didn't though!). Shellac also looks and applies just like polish - no drilling, buffing, sculpting, etc - so it doesn't seem dangerous or overly complicated to me if you apply it at home following the directions and with the recommended products. In short, shellac, unlike a lot of other nail systems, doesn't seem to be rocket science.