fan shaped nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sarah Lou

Scatty Blonde Geek
Premium Geek
Reaction score
Hi all,

Last night I did a full set on a new client, it was a surprise from her boyfriend for valentines, how sweet .

Anyway getting to the point she has slightly fan shaped nails, I've added a pic for you to see (by the way she wanted this much white), she wanted them squoval, but I think they look sort of unbalanced. How do you go about doing fan shape nails, I've searched but no luck. She absolutely lurved them but me being fussy thought that they still looked quite fan shaped, Can this be disguised or should I have suggested maybe an oval shape for her nail. Please help for future reference Im still learning lol

Attachments

• jess.jpg
    jess.jpg
    23.7 KB · Views: 13,357
hiya sarah
i would have tapered them in....hard to explain. Do you remember on your conversion when deborah set about your nails and took them in a bit...?
hth but probably not a lot!

I beleive you must cut/file the nail neat to the free edge and tip them and shape into an oval shape - I know Marian Newmans book the Complete Techician has a section on this... hope this helps

NB: I saw a client for a manicure recently and her nails were really strongly fanned and she would not let me cut them down to try and detract from the shape - so they still looked fanned! i think she quite liked them like there were

As Louise said, oval is the better shape, however, if she insisted on the square shape, I too would have tapered the sides in.

Are they white tips or white powder?

Hi Lou

This is an answer I gave to a post about fan nails a while back might help.