First client, first complaint!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marina

Reaction score
I'm at the end of my nail technology course, and am currently doing assessments, so I'm totally new to this industry. I'm doing well on my course and LOVE doing nails!! Sadly, my confidence has been shattered by my mum who had a full set of acrylic tips and overlays. She rang on Sunday and sounded really peed off. She said that her left thumb nail had come off!? after a week and a half. It had actually split on the side. She said she didnt want to attend my assessment for infills at college because my tutor might see the split and fail me for shoddy workmanship. She had no lifting and all her other nails were fine she said. She did say that she had polished her nails and removed the polish with non-acetone remover, but her nails had softened after this. I'm worried that this splitting will happen again. Is splitting normal? and would non-acetone remover soften acrylic tips and overlay? Is this a sign of bad workmanship?:Scared:

I don't know, but it seems to me that if it was "shoddy workmanship" more would have popped off and it would have been sooner than a week and a half. What was she doing when it split??

At any rate don't let it rattle you, you'll be fine, keep your confidence in your abilities and keep going!!

It sounds as if you have done quite a good job. Splitting - is this vertical or horizontal. Either way, its not really normal for nails to split unless alot of pressure was actually put on the enhancement itself.

Your Mum should be really proud of the good job you did to her nails.

Don't worry, you'll be fine for your assessment.