Is this normal or a really bad job?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tigerlilymk

Reaction score
I have a question and am looking for advice from the professionals. A little bit of background first: I have natural nails that tend to break about halfway down the nail bed. Obviously it's very painful. In looking for options for a solution, I've been doing Gelish polish for six months or so. I finally got to the point that I was tired of messing with it and decided to go to a salon and get acrylics. I had them put on in early December and was fairly happy with them. I've been getting a fill every 2 - 3 weeks at the same salon. There are two women there who do nails, and each has done a fill. Two weeks ago I had a back fill done because my natural nail was separating from the acrylic (maybe the nail tip that had been glued on, I'm not 100% sure). Before the backfill was done, I could not see any of my natural smile line.

This is what my nails look like today, two weeks after the back fill and about 2 1/2 months since application:
http://img6.imageshack.us/img6/1526/nailsh.jpg

nailsh.jpg

My question is should they look like this? Or is there a problem? The last time I had acrylics was 10 - 15 years ago and I honestly don't remember what they looked like at that point. The dark lines you can see are previous nail polish colors that were not completely removed with nail polish remover before the fill was done. I can count the fills I've had like the rings on a tree after you cut it down. You can see each new section.

The person who applied them initially is the same woman who did the back fill two weeks ago. If it's poor work, I don't want to return to that salon to keep paying money for a mess. But if this is how it should be, maybe this isn't the solution I thought it was.

Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated!