New to nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tiffany Dawson

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm quite new to the beauty industry and have no experience in nails at the moment but would really love to do a gel course of some sort.

Would I be okay going straight into that or would you recomend a basic manicure course to start with?

Any help would be appreciated! xx

Id recommend a basic course first so you understand the anatomy and physiology and structure of the hand/nails etc

Some nail courses cover all the anatomy and physiology. I did a nail course where I didn't need a manicure course first but it was a week course. Not just like your 1 day ones you get. But then I still wasn't qualified to do manicures I could only do nail extensions. So I would definitely suggest starting at the basics and working up.

Perfect - thanks guys :) xx

Hi Guys,

I'm quite new to the beauty industry and have no experience in nails at the moment but would really love to do a gel course of some sort.

Would I be okay going straight into that or would you recomend a basic manicure course to start with?

Any help would be appreciated! xx
Do you know which brand of gel polish you want to use? Some such as CND Shellac do a beginners course in which you learn about the anatomy of nails, health and safety, you learn how to do a manicure and how to apply and remove Shellac... And lots more! I'm
sure other brands must also offer a
complete beginners course so rather than spend out for two courses you can just do one! Then you can go on to do a luxury manicure course if you wanted to after that.

Hi Lorrainiac

Just checked it out online - looks like that is exactly what I need, thank-you for making me aware of this course :)

Tiffany xx