Newbie seeking nail tech training advice please!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rainbowstar

Reaction score
Hi there, hope you don't mind me asking but you all seem very friendly and helpful! I am a complete novice and want to retrain as a nail technician.

However, I am a bit confused by the choice of training providers. I have read on other forums that EZflow and NSI are good, but what about the others such as backscratchers, top talons, creative, pronails, star nails etc? While cost and location will no doubt play a part in my decision, I am most concerned about getting reliable training which will allow me to do a great set of nails (after practise, of course!) and get the appropriate insurance to offer my services.

I understand that some training providers tie you into certain products which end up being expensive, is this true? Also, not sure which system to train in first from acrylic, UVgel etc.

Finally, I know from reading the other threads that it's recommended to gain salon experience after training and before going mobile. I have 2 pre-schoolers and number 3 is due in 6 weeks time (eek!), so will be quite limited about the hours I can work - is it likely a salon would take someone just on a Saturday?? On the same topic, are there any particular training providers who a salon would/would not recognise, as obviously I don't want to spend money on training if a salon wouldn't take me on after completion.

Phew, I am REALLY SORRY if you get posts like this a lot, I just really need some advice before I make an expensive mistake - I REALLY want to make a go of this and want to get off to the best start possible!!

Thanks a lot in advance....XXX