Realistically, if I retrained at age 46, would a hair/beauty salon employ me?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vella

Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to this site. I wanted to ask those who are employed or who are employers what chance do I realistically have of gaining employment if I retrained now (aged 46) as either a hairdresser or beauty therapist? I've had a few jobs (RAF, teaching, ex-student nurse) so I'm experienced in life & I am good with people. I've been thinking about hair/beauty for a couple of years now but I'm scared to take the plunge as I'm overweight (desperately trying to lose it!), middle aged and don't want to fork out time and a fair bit of money to retrain if there is a very slim hope I will ever get a job. I've been there before with teaching (long story but years in education=no teaching jobs! Just low paid support jobs) and I was a student nurse until a couple of weeks ago (another long story, just wasn't for me) so I don't want to go into another form of retraining without a good chance of employment.

Another thing that's worrying me is I've just had an interview for a job at my local supermarket just to bring in some money. I met a lot of very young girls who all seemed to have done hair & beauty at college and some in jobs but left. I'm worried that there maybe a glut of youngsters out there who are qualified and probably more desirable than me.

Sorry, but long winded but any thoughts/comments would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Vella x