The Whole MMA thing.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kizzycat

Reaction score
I hope you can help. I am still very very new to the acrylic nail scene and hope you can answer some questions.

OK

I read a thread (yesterday i think) about a client who wanted to go to a tech to have her nails done (sorry cant remember who it was or which thread) but the tech saw that the nails were EMA and she sent her back to the salon to have them take them off. Ok these are the questions I have

As a tech how can you tell that the nails are EMA? do they look different or is it because the tech knew that the salon she had put them on used EMA? and also how do you know if a salon uses EMA.

I am quite worried about this as like i say i am new to acrylic up till september last year so in the past i have been to a few different places to have acrylic nails put on. now as a client (as before this i had no knowledge whatsoever about EMA or MMA) how do i know if I have not had acrylic that has had EMA in it?

hope these questions make sense?

thanks

In my opinion, coz they look rubbery, thick, short, square are generally airbrushed and are diffiuclt to remove or file. hope that helps. oh and flat (as with no apex);) :irked:

Hi
Another way u can tell if they are MMA is the smell when u attempt to file. They have a really sickening smell. Im not sure what these nails smell of, can't quite make my mind up between cats p*ss or something fishy! :eek: either way, they make me reach!! they're gross!

from what i have seen of mma it is usually applied thinly no apex no beauty in the shape of the nail, it is tinged yellow, they airbrush a french on and if you do soak it off it will take ages and it has a smell of fish, thankfully i have only had 2 so far with mma, they went out with a full understanding of what damage can be done.