Am I too old to train as a hairdresser at 50

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vella

Reaction score
Hello, I wondered if I could ask for some advice from the professionals out there? Is 50 too late to train as a hairdresser? It's something I've always wanted to do but couldn't afford it as the training is too expensive and I'm a graduate so wouldn't get funding.
As a mature person I appreciate a more mature person doing my hair, that's not to say that the young girls who've done my hair haven't done a great job & they've been very sweet but I think a mature hairdresser just seems to have a better rapport with clients in general.

Would very much like to hear your comments, thanks

I trained as a beauty therapist at 47.

Regarding hair - I'd comment that my colour vision is just starting to deteriorate, I need more light to see properly, which is fine as a beauty therapist because we have individual work lights for each client, but it might be something that is an issue in a shared salon space where you are doing very precise colour work. I spend a lot on expensive glasses, kept for work.

You also need to think about how your body is going to hold up to standing all day with your arms raised. A lot of hairdressers have problems with the physicality of the work, it's harder to bring your fitness up to a new standard when you are more mature. Having said that I was starting to be a bit of a decrepit crone when I trained and I find that working as a beauty therapist has improved all my aches and pains. I really had lots of problems when I worked at a desk using a phone and computer and I'm now pain free for the first time in over 20 years.