Any ideas what this is?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thinkpink2008

Reaction score
ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1390159660.481268.jpg just been cutting my 4 year old boys nails and one of them has gone like this. I'm not sure if from trauma to the nail, know we can't diagnose but just wondered if anyone had any suggestions on what it could be? I am a nail tech by the way and my son has heart problems but not been I'll recently if that's relevant
Tia

ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1390159763.199086.jpg sorry bigger pic

Have a look on NHS website under pitting of nails, it's pretty good advice with clear pics for comparison. I'm really short sighted, so couldn't see the nail too well. Sorry I couldn't make a better suggestion. Hope it gets sorted soon :)

My daughter has this on two of her finger nails and two of her toe nails.
She is dairy allergic and is calcium deficient.
I've read that the pitting in the nails could be a sign of her calcium deficiency or low iron levels.
We find out next week the results of blood tests for iron and other bits and I aim to check with her consultant about her nails too.
She is also losing hair (shes only 5) and I read that they can be linked with pitting nails.

Also my son was born with and still has spoon shaped nails on his toes, I was told nails can be a sign of health errors but told not to worry about it, when he was 5mo old we found by sheer fluke that he had a serious very rare liver disease, he's 21 now.

Of course all kids are different, I would guess that the pitting may be a sign that your son has what you already know, his health issues.
I'm not very helpful am I? Lol
I'll let you know what hospital says next week tho.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using SalonGeek mobile app