CND lamp or Gelish lamp?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caleypee

Reaction score
I am new to nails (not yet qualified or trained - training in may)
I want to buy either the gelish or cnd shellac kit but am unsure which lamp is best.

Is between the cnd led lamp and the gelish 18g led lamp.
Are they both the same or is one better?

I have had experience with gelish and think its brillient but no experience with the cnd one.
The cnd kit is much cheaper but i prefer gelish colours and wear.

Thanks in advance!

You need to buy the lamp which goes with the polish. So if you buy CND Shellac you need the CND LED lamp. Likewise if you buy Gelish then you need their lamp.

Lamps are not build the same, they have different hand positioning, uv output etc and each will have been designed to 'properly' cure a specific product.

Ah right wasnt aware of that. So if buy both brands which i was going to do i will have to buy both lamps?

Thank you for your advice :)

Yes, you would need both lamps.

Lovely thank you! Silly question, are there any universal lamps out there??
Thanks in advance ladies!

Lovely thank you! Silly question, are there any universal lamps out there??
Thanks in advance ladies!
You can use the cnd UV lamp with gelish. Although they have their own lamp they do say in the manufacturers instructions that you can use any 36w UV lamp or led lamp. They don't specifically say to use theirs.

You can use the cnd UV lamp with gelish. Although they have their own lamp they do say in the manufacturers instructions that you can use any 36w UV lamp or led lamp. They don't specifically say to use theirs.
Have u used a cnd lamp to cure gelish before? And did it cure properly?

There is no way to tell if you have a proper cure, except by scientific testing, or using the manufacturer branded lamp. Even if it seems hard that doesn't mean cured.