Competitive advice, please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justine'sHair

Reaction score
I have just over 4 years experience within the industry, and due to the salon I was working at closing, I decided to set up on my own a few months ago.

My manager was lovely, and he allowed us to keep our clientele that we had built up with him over the years, as he wasn't going to be carrying on within the industry.

I drive, so traveling around is not a problem, however, the Area I am originally from is rather small, and known for its Chinese Whispers as everyone seems to know eachother. so I decided to branch out, so instead of just offering services in my Area, I also cover surrounding Area's.

However, out of the blue, another mobile hair dresser has popped up, claiming she has been covering the Area I am from, for the last 15+ years. (she also live's in this area)
I don't like to doubt her, however I have never heard/came across her.

I corrected a very bad hair cut a few weeks back. the client had a picture and informed me that she wanted a very graduated style bob. however the previous hairdresser had done it all wrong.
it was a mess, but I am very professional about my job.
I corrected the cut,
made the client feel happy about her look,
and told her that she is more than welcome to come back to me (as she was saying she didnt know if she could trust another hairdresser now)

from what this client told me, the hairdresser that had done her re-style in the first place, was the one that has popped up in my local area.

I kept this all to myself, due to data protection, and due to this being my life aswel as my job, i wouldnt jepordise it in any way.

however, a few days later, i heard that this hairdresser had been Slating my name, stating i was 'too young' to be qualified (I am 20 years of age)