Confidence, practice and clients

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chantshaw90

Reaction score
Hello,
This is my first time posting on here, so bare with me.
I am a fully qualified nail technician, i went to college for a year and got my qualifications in manicure, pedicure, acrylics and luxury treatments. This was over 2-3 years ago.
However, in years since qualified i have been on and off doing nails, and only doing people i know or friends and family. I did build myself a small circle of family/friends.
However This past 18months i have hardly done any nails, this mainly because of personal problems and family problems getting in the way.
Recently i did a friends nails and realised how i miss it and want to get back into it.
I have bad confidence, and struggle to push myself at times. I also think i need more practice and build myself a proper client list.
When i did my college course i felt that one to one training was never there, and the whole course was rushed or half hearted and they just wanted u pass regardless.
I dont have money to do any extra training at the moment, as i am getting married in November. So i need to work with what i have. I work in a shop involving retail and only work 2 days a week.
I am mobile, i have all my kit, plus i still have my insurance, and a car. What i am asking is are there any ideas how i can get confidence back? Do i start asking friends family again and only charge cost to get my profile back up? Or do i push myself in the deep end and go into a shop and practice for small fee? Any ideas/suggestions or stories welcome.