Extensions- strand sizes question

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Solong1

Reaction score
Hello,
I've just completed a Hair Extension course and am currently practising LOADS on my training head before I let myself loose on some willing family members.
I'm getting my sections and rows nice and neat which has pleased me and I enjoyed my training but I'm worried about section sizes- as in how much of the natural hair to add to the extension.
On the course, I was taught to lightly scrape the surface in each section of the client's hair with the end of the sectioning comb- they were about 1cm wide but very thin on the ground in terms of thickness.
I would have thought they should be a bit thicker to help hold the weight of the extension?
Obviously my tutors were trained pros so I didn't want to query their method as I'm only a beginner.
I read elsewhere that sections should be as big as the extension strand to ensure even weight distribution- something I would have thought would go without saying because surely too little of the clients hair in each section wouldn't be enough to support the extension strand? I've read a lot about traction alopecia and this really unnerves me so I would rather use too much hair than too little- is there a reason it should be kept thin?
Another thing is when I do micro rings, I'm finding that I keep pushing out the inner silicone ring when I insert the stick tip hair into the ring.
Common sense tells me I've got too much hair in the ring and not enough room for the stick tip to go in without pushing out the inner ring, but again, the hair I picked up in the ring always seems too thin, I feel like I need to add more but I'd never get the extension in if I did.
I think my rings are 3mm and apparently this is the best size to use.