First ever nail art....

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miniminx13

Reaction score
I love nail art but I am rubbish at it... Lol... Anyway I am persevering and this is my first one that hasn't ended up being thrown straight in the bin....

Would love any tips and recommendations on what's best for beginners... This is acrylic paint over regular polish and seems much more workable than designs using normal polish....

ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1349269440.808314.jpg

That's really good, especially for a first attempt, I think you are better at nail art than you think you are!!!

I can relate to you though, I'm not a very artistic person but I do like a bit of nail art now and again. I'm not too keen on nail art thats over the top though I think it can look tacky, less is more with nail art in my opinion, which is very convenient if you're not much of an artist!! You have to remember that a fingernail is a very small canvass, even with a long nail, so too much detail can just look over the top, or the detail might be so small that it looks lost.

Start small and simple. A couple of flicks and dots in a contrasting colour to the nail with a diamante can look very striking and is very simple. Invest in a set of nail art brushes and a dotting tool and have a play. I would also recommend you invest in the additives as there's so much you can do with them and they're really simple to use.