First year self employed help

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jordon

Reaction score
Hi everyone I just need a few pointers, it's my first year as self employed I started in May. Do hmrc send you a tax return form or can I just fill the one in on their website? When does this become available to fill in?

How long does it take for them to reply with your tax bill after you've sent your return in?

Do you also pay your NIC's at the same time as your tax return?

And why does the return have to be away by Jan 31st when the tax year ends in April? [emoji21]

I'm really at one with being self employed but it's just doing my first tax return and I know it differs during your first year so any replies would be lovely. I just never seem to get time to ring hmrc and I know how friendly and helpful you all are xxx

Sorry for the LONG post [emoji5]️ x

Okay. You have lots of time. If you started in may, your tax return is due in for the end of January 2017, so your tax year would run from when you started in may until next April 2016. You then need your return in for Jan 2017 which is when your payment is also due. When you do your return online, you'll know then what you owe.

I don't know about NIC's as it's different now to when I was self employed.

Vic x

Okay. You have lots of time. If you started in may, your tax return is due in for the end of January 2017, so your tax year would run from when you started in may until next April 2016. You then need your return in for Jan 2017 which is when your payment is also due. When you do your return online, you'll know then what you owe.

I don't know about NIC's as it's different now to when I was self employed.

Vic x

Thanks Vic I had been reading that it wasn't due until 2017 but I assumed it was a misprint [emoji37] It just seems wrong you know?

So I really don't have to send them anything in jan '16?