Gelish cracked!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

plumpapple

Reaction score
Hi gelish geeks,
I did these nails on my aunt and after about a week the ring fingers cracked down the middle and came off?
I didn't see this but she wouldn't lie!

It was odd that it was just the ring fingers. The others were perfect when I removed after 2 weeks.

Any ideas why this would happen? I've never heard of this happening?

I wondered if as they both have 2 base colour layers and they 2 layers of decision colour strip they were maybe to thick? I applied each layer thinly and when I use seafoam I have to do 4 coats with that hasn't cracked. So really a bit baffled!?

Thanks in advance!
Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

Attachments

• 1382770732170.jpg
    1382770732170.jpg
    100.3 KB · Views: 404
Anyone?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using SalonGeek mobile app

Hi, I am fairly new to Gelish application. However, from my training it would lead me to think that it is connected to the application of the colour being slightly to thick. I feel that the colours do all apply differently. As I did a set today with Starburst and had to use 3 coats to get a good solid colour application.(on other colours in the Gelish range I get away with 2 coats usually)So I will be interested to see how they wear over the next couple of weeks. Hope this helps a little.

Is it best to apply thinly and use more coats than to risk applying too thick ?

I am not sure as being fairly new to it..but I would like know if it is better to apply more thinner coats.... Any Gelish peeps have any thoughts on this?

I can only speak for what I do, but I personally never apply more than 2 coats. I tried 3 once, and got slight wrinkling, so didn't do that again lol. Apply both fairly thinly...if the first coat seems patchy coverage, the second will undoubtedly correct it. Hth xx