Healing after acrylic nails?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SidheSeer5.0

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum. Sorry if this is too long.

I've recently taken off acrylic nails after having them for about 2-3 years. I have had take them off 4 times in the last 4 months. (Normal salon closed down, trying new/terrible places)

Each time to remove them, they would just cut off the tips and literally pry the acrylic off my nails, leaving them very weak and damaged, even sore to touch sometimes.

I'm not using acrylic anymore and want my nails to grow and get stronger.

I've tried a few different nails hardeners, but they seem to damage my nails more - am I using bad products? Or doing something wrong?

People tell me to try shellac but I've heard removal can cause damage too? I've only ever had it over acrylics or on my toes.

I've also started taking hair & nail growth tablets from the chemist. Do these work?

Any other tips on healing damaged nails after removing acrylics would be greatly appreciated?

Sounds like your doing all the right things- Use cuticle oil twice a day, take supplements, by nail treatments and basically patiently wait for the damage to grow out- it will go just give it time!

Omg .... So none of the salons soaked off your acrylics off properly at all ... ???
That's sooo bad ... !!!

You'll just have to be patient for them to grow,
but I would recommend you use ...
OPI Nail Envy Strengthener which is really amazing ... You apply a coat each day for 7-10 days (then take it off / and again then reapply for 7-10days) can also be used as a base coat .... Combined with a cuticle oil used daily you will soon see an improvement ... Xxxx

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek app

I'm trying to nurse my nails back to health too.
Vertical splits, weak, thin etc.