Hello and a quick question :)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SalonOwl

Reaction score
Hi fellow salon geeks!

I'm a trainee level 2 hairdresser, new to this site but i have been told you are all really helpful and friendly and look forward to getting lots of great advice on here :)

I was wondering what the best way to go about ombre hair is (basically the grown out dye look)
I'm naturally a light brown-medium blonde with no colour on my hair at the moment except a few basically grown out highlights. I want the ends to be a nice blonde, not too light but not ginger either! My hair has red tones in naturally so i'm thinking a cool/ash blonde?

Any help or advice you could offer would be great :)

When I do ombre, I pick root colour and always use Demi unless covering up gray. Section hair in 4 apply colour on the roots down to mid length after applying colour comb the hair with a wide tooth comb (colour will feather nicer) then take a profile section from center forehead to nape. starting at nape take zig zag setions and weave hair then place foil or easy meshe to seperate the hair and use lightner with 20 or 30 vol through midlength and ends. Make sure to feather really well so it will blend nicely. You can leave sections out or do all the hair depending on how heavy you want ombre.

So you would dye all the hair from roots to ends, i like my natural colour and just wanted the ends a lighter caramel brown/blonde really so could i just skip the first steps and just lighten the ends?
Thanks for the advice :)

So you would dye all the hair from roots to ends, i like my natural colour and just wanted the ends a lighter caramel brown/blonde really so could i just skip the first steps and just lighten the ends?
Thanks for the advice :)