Help me please, anxiety issues

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nicolexoxoxoxo

Reaction score
Hello, I just wanted to make this post because this is something I have been thinking about for a while but I am not sure how to fix it. I live in Virginia, and I did my cosmetology school through highschool, during my junior and senior year. During my senior year I worked at a Supercuts for around 9 months, but after I graduated and got my license, I wanted a better salon and change for myself. I have been at the salon I’m at now for around 11 months. and during my cosmetology school I wasn’t fought a lot of useful things for a real salon. So I am technically apprenticing through this salon. Which I am very happy here. The education is great and the people are great. But I have extreme anxiety about doing hair. I am just so so so nervous that I am going to mess it up, or they will not like it. I have wanted to do this since I was 6. I’ll bing my dream but I just didn’t think I would be the one making it difficult for myself. I am 19, I am the youngest one at the salon so I just feel like everyone looks at me like I’m young and naive and that I have no business doing hair and especially doing there hair. But I feel like if I had my confidence up it would help the situation. I would appreciate any advice y’all choose to give me, thank you for reading this book I just wrote and leave your advice below :) thanks so much!

...I am 19, I am the youngest one at the salon so I just feel like everyone looks at me like I’m young ...

You’re 19 years old. Of course you are young and inexperienced. You have around another 40 years of working so plenty of time to gain experience in a wide variety of areas and spend those years enjoying the ride.