Help Please..nail course

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JellyJane

Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

I'm new to this site today so please bear with me.

I am wanting to do a nail course (don't know the correct terminology)

Basically I want to be able to do Acrylic and Gel nails (is nail technician the right word?)

I have never done anything before apart from I have a rio kit and do my own nails and I am quite good at Nail Art.

I live in Wakefield west yorks and have tried looking up Nail Academies/Colleges/Courses etc. Everyone at the colleges is telling me I need to have completed a Manicure and Pedicure course first. There is only one place in Wakefield called Picassos who said I don't have do this and I can do an Acrylics course over four Saturdays for £500 plus vat. I don't know if this is good or bad. I have also looked at the home study courses but not sure if they work as you don't have a tutor to guide you.

I work full time so it would have to be an evening or weekend course but I want something to start as soon as possible and a lot of them also don't start until september.
Please can anyone help. Any info would be much appreciated
Thanks

Jayne :)

There have been loads of threads about training which will give you much information. There is an article also on choosing training. http://www.salongeek.com/training/27430-answer-most-faq-training-should-i-choose.html

I would recommend a manufacturers course rather than home learn or college as they are much more indepth.

Look for companies such as Creative (Sweet Squared), EZ Flow, NSI, OPI etc. etc.

If you check in the links directory on here you will find contact details.

Hope that helps.

Hi Fiona

I will try have a look at what you suggested.
Thanks very much. I am lost for what to do and where to look at the moment. People have told me so many different things.

I will check out what you said.
:)