Help sculpting clear stiletto nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xnailsbylisax

Reaction score
So i'm new to sculpting & i have only sculpted a few sets of square nails, never stiletto.

I have been asked by a client to sculpt stilettos then apply nail art. She has brought a pic to show me design & colours etc.

My question: how do i sculpt stilettos in clear acrylic?! Do i use reverse method still as if i was doing a pink & white? Do i start at the free edge & work up through zones 2 & 3 then cap? Do i need to cap at all?

As you can see i am pretty new to sculpting :lol: would appreciate any tips or advice x

If you're just doing a totally clear acrylic stiletto, then use the method you feel comfortable with.

I don't do many clear stilettos, but when I have I normally apply the form and start at the clients free edge. I sculpt the "stiletto" part first, then work on zones 2 & 3 to blend and build the apex. Obviously you have no smile line to worry about, so these are easier than pink & whites.

I'm sure every geek has their own method, but this is my preferred way of doing it.

Hope that helps a bit! xx

I'm so nervous lol! I hate sculpting but i really want to master it as it seems so much easier than tips! If i start by sculpting the free edge, do i overlap the acrylic onto the natural free edge first? Do i still cap? X

I'm so nervous lol! I hate sculpting but i really want to master it as it seems so much easier than tips! If i start by sculpting the free edge, do i overlap the acrylic onto the natural free edge first? Do i still cap? X

Yes I would overlap the free edge, so you attach the free edge, form and acrylic altogether.