Help with being mobile

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello!

So, I got my Level 2 Diploma in Beauty Therapy in July and haven't gone back to do my Level 3 but I am definitely thinking in taking some nail and tanning courses!

Anyway, I was wondering how I go about setting up being self employed and doing beauty treatments mobile?
Also, if you could link me to a site for beauty insurance that would be fab because I'm scared of getting fake ones!!

Any tips and advice would be useful.

Treatments I'll be offering are:
Facial Skincare
Waxing
Manicures
Pedicures
Eyelash / Eyebrow treatments
Make-up

Thanks x

If you look on this website

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/selfemployed/register-selfemp.htm

It gives you the forms you need to fill out and send back,

Your tax yr runs from around start of April2013 - April2014 ... And so your 1st yrs books need to be submitted around oct 2014 next yr ... And pay your tax the following January 2015 ...
Or get an accountant to do your books - ( I do as I find it easier - I'd rather pay someone to do it and know its right)

Can I ask why your not going back to do L3??
I work at a college - and as a lecturer I would say do it now... Or you will regret it ...

Xxxxx

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek app

First year books? Is that like all the income I make, ect? It's all very confusing! :( I was told I need to get beauty insurance aswell? :)

I just had a lot on to be honest so ended up not doing it and I'll have to wait till next September now, but shall definitely give it some thought :) I might try and see if I can start it part time in January?

Thanks for letting me know about registering as self employed. No idea where to start!

xxx

*** First year books? Is that like all the income I make, ect?
***It's all very confusing! :( I was told I need to get beauty insurance aswell? :)