Help with gels please please please...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LizzyLizzy

Reaction score
Hi all. I am new to gels. I love the benefits of gels vs.traditional acrylics, but I am having trouble getting the techniques down. I use Brisa gels. What is the best way to build up the nail bed thickness? I get the white thick enough (I think) but I end up filing it all down to get it even with the pink. Then I just end up with thin, fragile enhancements, with a somewhat bulbous free edge, but mainly I end up with flat nails. Plus, I have a hard time getting it all smooth before filing. They are quite lumpy. Is that normal, or is it just my inexperience? I am determined to get a grip on this, but I am getting discouraged. With acrylic you can get it smooth with your brush before filing. Thanks in advance!

Let me add, I have watched the Brisa video many times and I took the 2-day Brisa Master class.

I think it is your inexperience. Creative teach a very cool way of applying the whites or sculpting them which works wonders for both the smile lines and so that you do not have the thick end/low apex you describe.

Have you done a class with Brisa Gels? Have you watched the video closely? Both describe the method to you very clearly. Basically you do the pink first and then the white, forming your apex and smile line with the pink gel and then just butting your white up to it. Works great and the results are so sharp.

The surface should not be lumpy and finishing should be very fast and minimal.

There is only so much one can tell you verbally ... demonstrations are best. Attend a show and have a good look at the demos, or have a 121 class to solve your individual problems.

I see you added another post while I was typing!! ;)