Home based - how to tell clients not to bring friends etc. along

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glam8babe

Reaction score
Im a makeup artist and lash tech, I have one of the bedrooms in my home set up as a 'studio' which isn't huge but can only really fit 2 people in... when I do makeup I like to move about freely and not have anyone sat watching my every move and not have to step over toes...
yesterday I did a wedding trial which was meant to be for a bride and her bridesmaid, I don't normally like having two people in for one appointment but the girls lived out of town so I thought I'd let them both come to save them doing separate trips... anyways they both turned up with their mother, I said as soon as I opened the door that I didn't have the room but they still came in anyways.

Now this isn't just my home but it's my mums so I just find it disrespectful that people are turning up with more people without letting me know, obviously the clients don't know this but if it was me I'd go on my own as it's just common courtesy. I don't have spare chairs and even if i did it would still be too small, I wouldn't leave any strangers in my living area unattended as you can't trust people these days.

How do I put a message across without sounding rude to state that I prefer my clients to turn up on their own, or if they need to bring a friend then they must let me know? I just find it disrespectful that they think they can bring anyone along to my home, it's not a salon but it's my living space and I obviously don't have a waiting area like salons do...

Could you say that your insurance doesn't cover more than one client at a time?
I also work from home from a small room, I've only had one client bring a friend along, it was very annoying as the friend kept asking questions and got in the way, it made me over run by 20 mins, luckily it's only happened once.