How busy freelancers

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dlc

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to the hair industry as just started my training now! I've been doing up dos as part of my bridal or special occasion makeovers for a long time. But now decided to train in cutting and then colouring after Xmas.

I am a mum so have been working from home freelancing! I just wanted to know how busy going mobile is in the hair industry? And your preferences and why?
Building on clientele etc. I do have some through beauty I do but wanted to know best ways of getting established in this field too!

I am considering perhaps a couple of days in a salon when my DS starts sch in sept next year! However I'm not sure how likely this is with what I will have?! eg level 2 city & guilds cutting and the same for colouring hair!

Just I know there are 9 units to a full level 2 but as I will only have 2 (cutting and colouring) how likely I will be in working in a salon!

This is why I ask -how busy I can be working from home freelancing?

Any advice is appreciated thanks.

Last edited:
Hi, I've been freelance for about 9 years(since having kids)I worked in salons for 14 years before I went mobile but I have to say it's the best thing I've ever done! I think obviously apart from being great at what you do a lot depends on the area you live in. I'm based in Liverpool and I'm very busy all the time and lucky enough to have a good loyal client base. I started by setting up a free website and just used online advertising which was all free! I got quite a lot of bookings within the first few weeks, so I was luck really. Hope this helps but if you have any questions just ask you can pm me if you prefer!xxx

Thanks jenny