Is Living Social worth it?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BJohnson

Reaction score
Hi there, I am an experienced therapist setting up from scratch in a new city. I have been against vouchers in the past but was wondering if anyone had actually had a good experience taking part in a scheme at all? By that I mean generating extra income from add on treatments offered to voucher clients and particularly whether any repeat (full price) business resulted from the offer. I'm working solo so don't have staff to keep busy/train, and rent a room in a clinic. I am wanting to promote my skincare so would offer a facial, but basically would not be making more than a few pounds over the cost of products, although I can cap how many vouchers sold. Living Social are quoting an 80% rebook rate for repeat business, but this seems a bit "pie in the sky"! Thoughts?

80% hahahaha

its a well know fact the reality is more like 1% and thats not exaggerating :) They kind of clientele these deals attract, are deal hunters, it will be difficult to upsell and retail to these clients and they will not be loyal to anyone but the voucher site.

I used to rent a section in a hair and beauty salon, and when i first arrived the previous tech had done a deal but left, so the owner told me there was a few still left over and would i mind taking them over, i said i didn't mind because i had no clientele and hoped i would keep some of them on as clients… well a few turned out to be 357 vouchers, I kept 3 clients , 2 of which were absolute pains and i had phase out after a few months by telling them i had no availability and one who is a dream client and still comes to me to this day ….