Just Starting Out - What To Do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

*Leo*

Reaction score
Hey all - I'm Leo and new here :)

*Sorry for the long post* lol

Basically, i've been working for years as a health care manager. Whilst i enjoyed this once upon a time, i no longer enjoy the work, as the health care profession has changed so much in the past few years. I'm now looking to go into hairdressing (something i've wanted to for a while now).

As i'm on a pretty good salary, being a manager, i know i'm probably about to take a massive cut, especially if i have to start off as a junior. The pay cut isn't a huge problem, as i'm in a position to not need to work (as my husband can support us, financially). On the other hand, i don't want to be sweeping the floor on **** wages for years as a junior (especially at at the age of 24). I know folks got to start somewhere, but the thought of some 18yr old college leaver ordering me around to make cups of tea, makes me cringe. I also understand i will no longer be a senior manager and therefore have to put up and shut up, if i want to learn anything - which i'm happy to do. I did 6 months work as a salon junior when i was 16 and although i hated the bunch of bitches i worked with (they were catty and mean, it was awful) i actually really loved the job itself. If the staff had been different, perhaps i would have stayed in the career until i got my level 2. Oh well, can't dwel on the past, only the future! :)