Makeup artists

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jigz

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am a makeup artist and need to build a portfolio but dont really know how to start. I do Wedding/special occasion makeup, fashion makeup and everyday makeup, so i really need some before and after shots for the wedding makeup as thats what brides like to see when at a wedding fayre's but should i take them myself or would professional photo's look better? Would people feel i was more dedicated to my work if i have nice photo's? should i get a few models and a professional photographer to take some good edgy shots for the fashion makeup and special occasion makeup or just take all the photos myself? sorry if this sounds daft i'm just really in a pickle about what to do!

Thanks
Emma x

Doesn't sound daft at all!!

I want to get into bridal packages next year, concentrating on the make up too, but I know I need to build a good portfolio. I think you've raised some really good points and guess my reply would be that it depends how good you are with a camera!!:)

I'm not great so I would probably get someone to do them for me although of course the cost could end up prohibitive.

Thanks for your reply deb's! :D
If you want any help with the bridal packages or makeup feel free to PM me! :D

thats the thing is it worth paying out about £200, am i going to make it back from the professional look or do i spend around £40 making my own? but risk not getting as much work lol. I really don't no what to do! hope everyone can help me out

Thanks guys :green: