Makeup course complaint - what do I do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pennyvanilla

Reaction score
Hello all...this is my first proper post so bear with me =) I am a qualified therapist and run my own mobile business and everytime I get a bit of money behind me, I like to do a new course. I research the courses and read a lot of stuff on here so I would like to think I'm not naive and try to be as well informed as possible!

However, I went on a one day makeup course recently and feel really unhappy about it....but the woman who does the training, owns the 'school' so I am unsure of where to take the complaint. Below is basically the letter I have written to her so I want to know what other people think before I send it...or if there's anything else I should really say! Thanks in advance!

I have a basic qualification in make up (NVQ2) and was expecting this course to really take that knowledge a lot further as it is described on the site to be an advanced course.

The first issue that I have is with provision of materials. The chairs in the academy are normal, low height, non-adjustable chairs meaning that the therapists were constantly bending over and at the end of the day I was in that much pain from my back that I couldn’t straighten up properly for over an hour. I could still feel the pain three (!) days later! For a training academy where therapists are applying makeup for almost four hours, this is unacceptable.
Hygiene was also poor in the academy. Apart from discussing using disposable brushes for mascara for H&S reasons, there was no other reference to hygiene. Kohl and lip pencils were re-used and when I asked for a sharpener, I had to borrow one from another student as there wasn’t one available.