Makeup - insurance?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmoseley07

Reaction score
Hi please could someone help me.
I currently have a hair salon which I want to introduce makeup.
Now the problem I have is I don't have time to go back to college to get my certificate.
Do I need a certificate to get insurance or is it fairly easy getting insurance anyway?

I've seen plenty of makeup courses I can do which are day courses, online courses etc but don't have a well recognised certificate to go with it.

I'm insured for makeup with Salon Gold and I had to tick a box to say I had a qualification from the list of approved ones. I can't imagine that any insurance company would offer insurance to carry out any form of procedure or treatment without proof that the insured individual had received the training to be able to do it safely.

There are many self taught and talented makeup artists who have not done any formal training courses and not got certificates that are working within the industry.

However to obtain vaild insurance and for the insurance company to support any claim made against you will need a vaild certification from and acredited training provider.

Should you take out insurance without a first doing am acredited course and a claim is made against you and they ask for your certificates any you can not provide them, the insurance company will be unable to support you and your insurance will be invalid.

Also some local councils require salons to display certificates and insurance on the walls or for staff to have them available to see on request for treatments they are offering to clients.

Also when doing an acredited course you are taught a lot more than just applying makeup, you taught contra indications, antomy and physiology etc