Mobile/sole therapists - uniforms?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firemansamsmum

Reaction score
I am a mobile therapist with occasional bits done at home to suit my clients. Before I went self employed I worked in a very starchy spa that required a strict uniform and rules on what colour your hair could be, how it was dressed for work and what make up you had to wear.
Since going mobile I've worn black tunic with leggings and white ballet pumps, however my tunic is massively too big for me since losing some weight and it got me thinking about what I should wear for work.
I go to a home salon for my intimate waxing and my therapist wears jeans/normal clothes - at first I was really taken aback by this as it didn't seem that professional to me - however it is no reflection on her as a waxer! She's Kim lawless trained and I wouldn't go anywhere else for my holly woods.

But I personally wouldn't want to wear my jeans to work. I'm quite individual in my day to day style - tattooed and stretched ears, with bright hair and I wear a lot of bodycon dresses in a 50s wiggle dress style over leggings with converse. I was wondering how it would be if I had a uniform that reflected my style such as a bodycon stretchy polkadot dress with my leggings and pumps. I tried it out on a client yesterday and she was very agreeable as she said she wouldn't expect uniforms unless in a spa or salon, but I know her quite well - I don't want to put new clients off. I think it looked professional as well as individual and "me" but would like some more input before I but another four dresses etc! Oh and I always cover my tattoos up until I know the client etc!