Monomer discoloration

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Squeeby

Reaction score
Hello all, first time poster here :)

I am really new to the field having only completed my nail technician class a few weeks back (license will arrive in a couple of weeks, yay!)
I am having a couple of issues however, and the first issue leads me to my second issue.

First: I purchased some monomer off of Ebay. The monomer I purchased was the EZFlow Q Monomer, which I have used before with no problems. I knew I was taking a risk purchasing it off Ebay, but my main concern was that the seal be intact. When it arrived it was not opened so I was relieved. A couple of weeks later though, the monomer went from the normal nice clear purple to a muddy brown, almost black color. It is no thicker and smells the same, but the color really has me thrown off. I have never dipped my brush in the bottle etc... I pour the monomer from the original bottle into a smaller more manageable one, and from the smaller bottle it goes into the dappen dish. Has anyone ever had this happen?

Second: Since using this monomer I seem to have gained an allergy to doing nails! I am in an absolute panic because since beginning my training I have absolutely fallen in love (LOVE!!!) with doing nails and everything about them. During my course, my instructor taught us early on that our skin should have zero contact with the product, if we can help it.
I have done all I can to prevent any product from contacting both my clients and my skin, and so far I thought I had done a darn good job! Yes, mistakes do happen, of course I have gotten some monomer on my skin before, but I didn't think that I had been in contact so much that it would have caused an allergy this quickly.