New salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tam McIlroy

Reaction score
Afternoon folks

I work full time as does my fiancé who is a Beauty Therapist by trade but works Full Time as a Care Manager and does Beauty Therapy part time.

We have been given an opportunity to lease a fully fitted Salon in the Town Center. Due to our existing commitments we have arranged for someone to pop in and out during the day to make sure everything is ok and we will be there for closing/evenings and at weekends. What's your views on this - is this sustainable or not? Everyone within the Salon will be self employed.

We appreciate that unless clients are coming through the door those renting chairs/beauty salon/nail bar from us will end up giving us notice and going elsewhere.

We have had a good interest due to location and have verbal agreements in place just now which would see us bring in a good profit of about £700 P/M after costs which we plan on investing a good bit back towards marketing with the rest going to build up a cash reserve. We have a good relationship with landlord and do bits and bobs for the landlord which is why we are getting a good deal on rent.

We plan on opening on 4th July. We plan on doing the following:

Newspaper advert in local paper leading up to the opening
5k-10k flyer drop in Town and local residential areas
Make our name heavily known via Social Networking
Promotional deals

Just wanting to see if anyone else had any marketing tips. For our business model to be successful it is reliant on helping those renting from us obtain clients. My fiancé will be working part time from the Salon Evenings and Weekends until such time it is profitable enough for her to go into it full time.

Thoughts from experienced Salon owners/managers etc would be much appreciated.