opening a salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wonderwomen

Reaction score
Hi guys
I am new to this forum, I have been browsing and its great.

I am a beauty therapist and Make Up Artist. I want to open my own salon can anyone please guide me on what I need to do. I have seen a few properties and interested in one in particular.

Can you advise me about the initial setup, (how much I need) also about staff, were i could hire them from other than job centre and colleges and pay structure.

I look forward in hear from you

Wonderwomen

Can I ask a quick question which I know has nothing to do with what you were posting a message about? Where did you do your Make-Up artistry training, I live in Scotland and only one college offer the course, I'm not sure whether to look further afield?

Hi there

If you're starting to make plans to go into owning a salon or any business you'll find that 'how do i ' comes into your mind more than it has ever done before.

There are a lot of support out there for people who have a passion and a drive but don't have all the info they need. Business Link seems to be one of the most popular here and I know many geeks speak highly of them.

How much money needed depends on what you want to set up and what kind of budget you are on. You won't be able to create your perfect salon at first, but in time it will get there with bits of investment here and there.

Don't underestimate the amount of money it can cost if you are going it alone.

If you have seen a building the first questions I would be asking with regards to money and budgeting is..

1) Rent (obviously) but how much is it with VAT and rates as that really stacks on the price with the rates in some areas. Also is there a service charge on top of the rent?