Opinions please, what could have caused this?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dani1987

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Just wondering if you can help with this. I have been waxing for 8 years and this has never happened to me before.
I waxed her lip and chin, I did this treatment on Thursday and she messaged me on Friday saying it was hurting and starting to scab and had been hurting right away but she hadn't wanted to say.
She's not on any medication I did a treatment on her 4 weeks ago and the redness went away after a few hours.
I used the same products and the same wax so I am quite baffled as to what could have caused such a reaction...
Only thing I can think of is the sanitiser on my hands... but I only touched her face with cotton wool not my hands at all
The wax was preheated before I arrived and was just warm not hot at all.
I've emptied the pot and scrubbed it incase something had got in there and am going to patch test her on her next treatment. She has hopi ear candles as well

TIA xx

Attachments

• IMG-20140912-00325.jpg
    IMG-20140912-00325.jpg
    140.4 KB · Views: 351
Could be a number of things, the things that spring to mind are:
possible friction burn?
Was the wax the right temp?
Did she follow your aftercare correctly?
Did she have any UV exposure after the treatment?

I would imagine it will calm down quite quickly, for a home soothing remedy she may already have, she could try after sun? Hope it all goes ok x

Sent from my iPhone using SalonGeek mobile app

This can be just one of those things. I used to get it if I waxed after a shower in the morning. I don't mean right after, more like 2 hours after. I now get it because I'm on high levels of vitamin A in my skin care so can't have my brows waxed at all.